Apple Roasted Chicken and Soup

Posted on September 12, 2010. Filed under: Uncategorized |

Taken with iPhone(sorry for the poor quality)

I just cooked one of the best chicken dinners, in fact this would have to go under the Top 5 Best Dinners that I’ve made. Every Sunday night I roast a chicken, I’m always looking for different recipes. Last weekend I brined a chicken, which was a disaster. I was looking for a soup recipe, and found one titled Leftover Apple Roasted Chicken Soup. In order to make the soup, you have to make Apple Roasted Chicken.

For the chicken and if your going to make the soup:

  • Whole Chicken( Mine was 4 1/2 lbs.)
  • 6-7 apples, I used 3 different types(Golden Delicious was one type) quartered and cored
  • 1 1/2 to 2 Onions, peeled and cut into large chunks
  • Whole head of garlic peeled
  • 1-2 springs of fresh Rosemary
  • 1/2 cup of apple cider
  • Salt and Pepper

I added a couple figs when roasting the chicken

Pre-heat oven to 375 F

Place the apples, onions, garlic, and rosemary in a roasting pan.

Season the chicken with salt and pepper and place it on top of the mixture. Pour in the cider. Roast chicken for 20 minuter per pound. Since I purchase free-range chickens, I cook them until the internal temperature is 165-170. I also poke the chicken with a fork to make sure the juices are clear. Pull the chicken from the pan, and cover. I take a piece of parchment paper, and then a piece of foil and cover the chicken(not allowing the foil to touch the chicken).

For the soup roast the vegetable of your choice for 35-50 minutes until tender at 375 F.

In a stockpot, I placed 75% of the apples, garlic and onions in the stockpot, leaving 2 apples and 3/4 th of an onion for the chicken. The original recipe is doubled so I suggest leaving a couple cloves of garlic out, and once its blended decide if you want to add more in.

The ingredients for the soup are: Makes 3-4 servings.

  • 2 cups of chicken Stock
  • 2 cups of roasted butternut squash, pumpkin sweet potatoes or yams(I used yams)
  • Drippings from pan-Ideally 2 cups I probably had 1 cup.
  • Salt and Pepper to taste.

Then place the stock and drippings into the stock pot, and bring to a boil. Lower to a simmer and add in the roasted vegetable. Blend together,  I used my immersion blender, if you have a vitamix blender that would probably be ideal, there was 2-3 chunks in the soup. Season with salt and pepper. This was one of the best soups that I’ve made, it was very thick. It went really well with the chicken, and once I pulled the chicken out, it probably took me 10-15 minutes to make the soup.

Very filling and delicious.

I found the chicken recipe here The picture she used in beautiful and worth checking out.
The soup recipe: Click here.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

