Fig Coconut Flour Muffins

Posted on August 31, 2010. Filed under: Uncategorized |

I purchased some figs at the farmers market, and realized that I need to use them within the next day or so before they go bad, so decided to make muffins.

Ingredients:

  • 3 Eggs
  • 2 T of Coconut Oil or Butter
  • 1/4 cup of Coconut milk or Milk
  • 1/4 cup of Coconut Flour
  • 1/4 cup of applesauce
  • 8 small figs or 3-4 large ones depending on how figgy you would like your muffins to be.
  • 1/4 t of cinnamon
  • 1 1/2 t of balsamic vinegar
  • 1 t of vanilla
  • nutmeg
  • dash of salt

I really enjoy making coconut flour muffins, I always like to try different variations with the muffins, and so far they have all turned out pretty good. When I was off all sweeteners I would make them with blueberries, applesauce, nut butter, apples and a dash of stevia and they helped my sweet tooth/baked good cravings. I thought of adding a dash of honey to these, but decided that figs are sweet enough, and I’m glad I didn’t. They taste great without the honey. I made a couple variations to the recipe, I sprinkled in some shredded coconut, raspberries, and I had some macadamia nut flour in the freezer that I threw in, it was probably an 1/8th of a cup, so you might want to add an extra tablespoon of coconut flour, if you don’t add any nut flour into the muffin mix. If you don’t have any nut flour, you can just smash up some nuts and add it to the batter. I think pecans, would compliment the figs nicely.  If your using coconut creme to make your coconut milk, remember that coconut butter can burn(found this out the hard way) so if you heat up in the toaster oven like I do, keep an eye on it.

Instructions:

Place the three eggs, milk, oil or butter into a bowl and mix. Next add in the coconut flour, spices, salt, applesauce, vinegar, vanilla and mix. If your using whole nutmeg, grate the nutmeg over the batter a couple times, or if using ground nutmeg, sprinkle a little in. Then add in the chopped figs, and any other fruit your using mix them into batter, and put them into your muffin tins.

Cook at 400 degrees for 20 minutes. I usually cook mine for 25 minutes. If this is your first time making coconut flour muffins, I suggest you check in on them after 15 minutes. Since I’m of dairy, if I decide to put something on my muffins, I spread nut butter or coconut butter on.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

One Response to “Fig Coconut Flour Muffins”

RSS Feed for Tales from a Recovering Vegetarian Comments RSS Feed

I did these with added raisins and lemon peel. I’ll make them again, but add a raising agent.


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

