Meat Sauce

Posted on May 4, 2010. Filed under: Uncategorized | Tags: |

I just made this amazing meat sauce. It was one of those meals where I can’t wait until breakfast, when I’ll be eating it again. Before I started the diet I used brown rice pasta when I made spaghetti. Now that I can’t have rice, that’s out. This meat sauce was so good, that I didn’t miss my brown rice pasta. I decided to roast some peppers to add to the sauce. I’ve never roasted peppers before, and wanted to give it a try. The roasted peppers were simple to make and really added a nice flavor to the sauce. To make roasted peppers I turned the toaster oven to broil threw some coconut oil on them and watched them until the skins turned black and flipped them. It probably took 40 minutes until all sides were roasted.  Once the peppers have cooled down, peel the skins off. Next take the tops off and cut them into bite size pieces. I washed them off to make sure I didn’t add any seeds to the sauce.

Ingredients:

  • 3 roasted peppers chopped
  • 5-6 cloves of garlic diced
  • yellow onion diced
  • bay leaf
  • 1 lb. of ground meat( I used grass-fed beef)
  • Pepperoni (I probably used a 1/4th of a pound)
  • Pasta Sauce 24-26 ounces ( I used a jar of Garlic Marinara sauce, have I mentioned I love garlic?)

Pic taken w/camera phone so not the best

The first thing to do is dice the onion and put it into a pot with oil, I used coconut oil. Other options would be tallow, lard, and bacon fat. Next step is to dice the garlic and put that into the pot. Once the onions have softened add the ground meat and cook until it’s browned. Next I added in the roasted peppers. Once the ground meat has browned add in the pasta sauce and bay leaf. Next add the pepperoni. If you can’t find grass-fed pepperoni, try pork sausage, pancetta, or bacon. Once I added the sauce I cooked it for 35 minutes. Since I didn’t have pasta, I put it into a bowl, and it was great. I also made a little salad of sauteed kale and chard and put some grapefruit on top.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

