Food Sensitivity Test

Posted on April 26, 2010. Filed under: Uncategorized | Tags: , , |

I decided to get tested for food sensitivities. I was doing pulse testing, but I was having a hard time with it. I can’t find my own pulse, so I purchased one of those blood pressure cuffs that also displays your pulse. I was having issues with it, and decided to just get a blood test done. I assumed that I would test positive for dairy, wheat, almonds, and strawberries. The test I took show’s how strong your reaction is to certain foods showing a positive reaction between +1 to +5. A +1 or +2 equals a mild reaction, +3 or +4 is Moderate, and +5 is Severe. Here’s a quick article on how to do pulse testing: Pulse Testing

The lab suggests that the individual remove all foods that are classified as a +2 or higher for 4 weeks. After 4 weeks, reintroduce each food one-at-a-time and wait one week before you introduce another food. Record the date and time each food is eaten and any reactions or symptoms that occur. If you don’t see a reaction after 3 days add the food into your diet, doing a 4 day rotation diet. If adverse reactions are experienced, continue to eliminate the food and try and re-introduce it in 2-4 weeks. All foods that are categorized as mild should be eaten only once every four days.

The foods that I tested positive to are:

  • Casein 2000 SEVERE +5    Milk 1342 SEVERE +5    Peanut 46 Mild +1
  • Pinto Bean 45 Mild +1      Soybean 52 +1             Mustard 53 +1
  • Malt 47 Mild +1              Almond 114 +2             Pistachio 106 Mild +2
  • Sunflower 67 Mild +1

I was shocked that wheat wasn’t on there since I am gluten sensitive. When I asked my health care practitioner about that, she said that she’s seen this before, and it could be one of two things. The first being that I haven’t consumed wheat for a while and thats why I tested negative, or I don’t have a true gluten sensitivity. That once my gut is healed I maybe able to handle small amounts of gluten-containing grains if they are prepared properly(fermented or soaked). She told me that I would probably test positive for dairy, since most people that are gluten sensitive are also sensitive to dairy.

When you consume gluten, and your sensitive to it you are irrating the lining of the small intestine which becomes inflamed and causes the villi to flatten. Which reduces the body’s ability to absorb nutrients properly, making it difficult if not impossible to digest dairy. Dairy should be restricted from the diet for a minimum of three months. I went to an Indian restaurant two weeks ago, it was my first time and I asked the waiter what he recommended, he recommended a cashew curry sauce with lamb and I ordered it. I realized it probably had dairy but consumed it anyways. I didn’t feel so good afterwards, and suspected that it was the dairy.

I’ve become more in tune with my body in the past month. When your ill, you don’t notice how food affects you, because you feel like crap all the time. I went off gluten several times in the past year ranging from 4 to 6 weeks, and the first time I seemed to feel a little better, but the second and third time I didn’t notice any improvement. For me, one of the signs that your health is improving is noticing a reaction to foods that your sensitive too.

People think that once they eliminate gluten and dairy for several months, they are good to go. I also thought this until someone mentioned it, and I realized that you have damaged your gut, and need to heal it. One of the best ways to do that is with the 4R program which is:  Remove(dairy and gluten), Repair, Replace, and Reinoculate. In the future I will post more about the 4R program.

I recently discovered that I’m allowed to have quinoa, buckwheat, amaranth, and coconut flour. I made some coconut flour pancakes the other day, which I really enjoyed and plan on making some coconut flour muffins this week. I tried quinoa with a Indian ground lamb recipe and it was okay. Defiantly not a replacement for rice. I might purchase some buckwheat in a week and have that for breakfast one day. I’m almost finished my supplements for eradicating the parasite, and will be re-tested in 2 weeks. Once I finish the parasite protocol I will start a anti-fungal protocol.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

One Response to “Food Sensitivity Test”

RSS Feed for Tales from a Recovering Vegetarian Comments RSS Feed

Thought I’d mention in relation to your Indian food reaction,cashews are a nut with a high incidence of allergic reactions. It’s in the same family as Poison Ivy. If you have a pistachio allergy, that might carry over to cashews. Just a thought, I’m learning this stuff as I go.


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

