It’s Girl Scout Cookie time!

Posted on February 26, 2010. Filed under: Uncategorized | Tags: , , |

So girl scout cookies are out, my sister brought a box over. As I’m writing this I have the news on and guess what? Girl Scout Cookies are on. Talk about perfect timing! The newscaster said the cookies may smell a little funny. It appears that the lemon creme cookies have a smell to them, and there is a voluntary withdrawal. The strange smell and taste are due to a breakdown of oils in the cookie.
So I used to be a girl scout when I was a kid, and I remember selling girl scout cookies and eating quite a few. Even when I started eating healthier I would still eat them due to the fact that they are only available once a year. I thought what’s a few girl scout cookies? I loved the carmel ones. I also enjoyed the thin mints frozen, but I could never eat just one. I would get one from the freezer, and then another and another. I justified it by telling myself that two thin mints were the same size as a regular cookie, so two cookies equaled one cookie!  It’s been 2-3 years since I have consumed a girl scout cookie. I also want to mention that I was addicted to sugar from a child up until a couple years ago. I ate a lot of junk food. When I decided to give up candy, it was difficult. I worked at a company where candy was always available. There were times when I had cravings, and how I stopped myself was by reading the ingredient label. Just reading the ingredients disgusted me, and I wouldn’t eat whatever it was that I was craving.

So I’m going to list the ingredients in the thin mint girl scout cookies. Enriched Flour (Wheat Flour, Nicacin, Reduced Iron, Thiamin, Mononitrate(B1) Riboflavin(B2), Folic acid) Sugar, Vegetable Oil (Partially Hydrogenated Palm Kernel and/or Cottonseed Oil, Soybean, and Palm Oil), Cocoa, Carmel Color, Contains two percent or less of Cocoa processed with alkali, invert sugar, whey,leavening(baking soda, monocalcium phosphate), corn starch, salt, soy lecithin, natural and artificial flavor, oil of peppermint. Wow doesn’t that make you want to run out and buy a box?

Lets talk about the vegetable oils, based on the news report, the cookies smell bad because of the oils in them. A breakdown of oils is what’s being reported. I like that, let’s just say what it really is, the oils are rancid. Why else would they have an odd odor to them? So imagine what would happen if you ate those cookies, your body would be taking in rancid oils.

I have an app on my Iphone called: Don’t Eat That, and there’s thousands of ingredients listed that it describes. According to Don’t Eat That: Partially Hydrogenated Cottonseed Oil is a trans-fat which is made by forcing hydrogen into the oil from a liquid to a semi-solid. It is considered to be a contributing cause of obesity and heart disease. Its use is restricted in some countries(imagine that!). This substance is most likely made from genetically modified cotton. My phone doesn’t mention partially Hydrogenated palm kernel oil, but it’s pretty much the same thing, its a trans fat. For more information on why you should avoid partially hydrogenated oils check out this article which also mentions Girl Scout Cookies: The health dangers of trans fats have been known for decades, yet food companies still poison customers with hydrogenated oils

Then there’s soy oil. I can pretty much guarantee that it’s genetically modified, and if your going to consume soy, it should be fermented, organic and consumed in small amounts. Kaayla Daniel did a interview all about soy that I highly recommend. Kaayla T. Daniel, Ph.D. Exposes the Whole Soy Story
Soy Lecithin: Soy Lecithin is chemically derived from soybeans by using hexane. Lecithin is found in all living organisms, but is commonly produced from soybeans and eggs. It is utilized as an emulsifier in food. This substane is most likely made from genetically modified soy. The health debate about soy is centered around the type of soy and the amount consumed. there is growing concern that large amounts of unfermented soy(soy milk and tofu) may cause multiple health problems.

Hopefully after reading this you will never look at another girl scout cookie the way you did before. Michael Pollan says that if your going to eat junk food make it yourself. So if your craving cookies, bake them at home with organic ingredients. What sounds better eating a cookie that’s been sitting in a box for a couple months or a nice warm cookie straight from the oven? Cheeseslave has some healthy cookie recipes on her page here’s her Sprouted Flour Chocolate Chip Cookies recipe and her Healthy Soaked Oatmeal Cookies recipe.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

