My Thanksgiving Meal

Posted on November 28, 2009. Filed under: Uncategorized |

This year I decided to cook, usually my mother does all of the cooking. I found a couple of new recipes that I wanted to try out. I found a recipe for roasted sweet potatoes and apples which is sweetened with maple syrup.

Sweet Potatoes with Apples

The recipe says to roast them for 40 minutes, I did them for 25 and they were well roasted, so I put them in the fridge and when it was time for dinner I heated them up in a bowl in the toaster oven. I thought they turned out pretty good. My father recommended mixing them with the cranberry sauce which made them even better.

I made cranberry sauce for the first time this year. Usually we buy the canned stuff. One year my mom made cranberry sauce and my sister and I didn’t like it and asked for the canned stuff again. I found a recipe that used frozen cranberry juice, fresh cranberries, and dried cranberries. Looked like a winner! The recipe called for 2/3 a cup of sugar, using organic sugar I know it can be sweeter then regular sugar and used a little over 1/2 a cup. The cranberries were incredibly sweet.

Cranberry sauce

They were good better then the canned ones but next time I think I will omit the sugar, since the cranberry juice all ready has sugar in it.

I also decided to make a new stuffing recipe Sourdough bread with pancetta and apples. At first I planned on cooking it in the bird, but Emril recommends that you cook it outside of the bird, so I did it that way, and I prefer it that way since the sourdough bread was a little toasted on top.

Pancetta, Sourdough and Apple Stuffing

I did use extra chicken stock when I made it so it was nice and moist. I should have cut up the pancetta a little smaller, but I must say cutting up a pound of thick pancetta is not the easiest thing.

For the turkey I followed Emril’s advice and stuffed it with vegetables including garlic. I then rubbed the bird with a mixture of butter, thyme and rosemary. The bird came out very well. I ate the drumstick. I’m the only person in my family who will eat the dark meat, previous years my mom used to give the dark meat to the dogs.

I baked my first apple pie on Thanksgiving. I made an all butter crust, and used a mixture of apples from the farmers market, mostly granny smith though. For the crust I did use organic unbleached flour, last year I did sprouted flour and it was not good. I figure a little white flour every now and then won’t do too much harm. The pie turned out okay. This is the second pie that I have made the first pie was a pumpkin pie last Thanksgiving using fresh pumpkin, and it was not great. When the pie was baking I heard a boom from the oven, I peeked in and the pie sprung a leak and it was dripping. I pulled it out, it continued to drip so I lost a lot of the pie juices.

Apple Pie

My father commented on the pie asking if the apples were raw. They were not the pie cooked for about 45 minutes, maybe the slices were a little too thick, or I used too many apples. I have to accept that I am new at cooking and it will take time to get better, and of course the best way to learn is by doing it yourself. Overall I was pleased with the dinner, don’t think I will  feel like making Thanksgiving dinner any time soon. My back was killing me at the end of the day, and I was pretty tired. Yesterday my back was still sore and my legs hurt.

I hope everyone had a wonderful Thanksgiving.

I wanted to mention where my ingredients came from. The turkey came from a farm 30 minutes away from me, the farmer Sharon feeds them a non-soy feed and they have space to roam around in the turkey enclosure. The day before Thanksgiving I went to the Santa Monica farmers market which was pretty crazy, not sure I will do that again. At the market I purchased the sweet potatoes, apples, celery,  potatoes, and sourdough bread. I am very thankful to live in place where farmers markets occur all year long, and every weekend I attend a farmers market.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

