Chicken and Brown Rice Soup with Bacon

Posted on November 3, 2009. Filed under: Uncategorized | Tags: |

I must admit I am not the best soup maker, so when thinking about how I was going to make chicken and brown rice soup I was thinking of how I could improve it. Bacon! Bacon makes everything taste better. I used Massa Organic rice. Last year when I went to the bay area I decided to go to the San Francisco farmers market. That is where I purchased my first bag of their brown rice. It’s the best brown rice that I have tried. Here’s their website: Massa Organics

Ingredients:

    slices of bacon3/4-1 cup of rice

    6 cups of chicken stock

    4-5 handfuls of chicken

    1 stick of celery

    1 onion

    8-10 carrots

    thyme

    Salt and Pepper to taste

 

The first thing I did was start the brown rice, cook the brown rice according to the manufacturers instructions.  I only had 3/4th of a cup of rice left, and it was enough. Next I started cooking the bacon in a large pot. When the bacon was cooking, I added some butter, if I had ghee I would have used that. After the bacon started to brown, I added in the diced onion then after a couple minutes added in the carrot and celery.  I cooked them for about 10 minutes. I pulled out the bacon and cut it into bite size pieces.  Then I added the chicken stock, and threw in the leftover chicken about 5 handfuls. I tore it into little pieces as I was adding it into the pot. I also added 8 springs of thyme. I probably added a teaspoon of salt and 1/2 a teaspoon of pepper. I would probably recommend 2 teaspoons of sea salt and one teaspoon of pepper, since I added a lot more in later on. Taste the soup as you add them in though.  I cooked the soup for roughly 40 minutes until the vegetables were soft. I pulled out the thyme and added the brown rice. Then I added in the bacon pieces. I garnished mine with a little creme fraiche. It came out pretty good, I really liked the addition of bacon.

This post is part of Real Food Wednesday hosted by Cheeseslave check it out: here

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

One Response to “Chicken and Brown Rice Soup with Bacon”

RSS Feed for Tales from a Recovering Vegetarian Comments RSS Feed

Yum! This sounds good. 🙂

I won a bag of Masa Organics brown rice in a giveaway, and it IS the best.


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

