Pumpkin Coconut Muffins(GF)

Posted on October 21, 2009. Filed under: Uncategorized | Tags: , , |

I have been off gluten for 3 1/2 weeks. I don’t really miss it, except for one day when it was raining and I wanted a grilled cheese sandwich on sourdough bread. This is my second time going off gluten. The first time I did it for a month. Then I went to see my endocrinologist who told me that my iron levels were still low. This was after I had been taking 6 liver pills daily for a couple months, and prior to that I was taking  non-chelated iron pills for three months. I was also eating ground beef several times a week. I eat bacon daily and cook using a cast iron skillet. She thinks that I am not absorbing iron, which I agree with. She suggested that I get tested for celiac disease and in order to do that I had to consume bread on a daily basis for 3 weeks, not only did I gain weight which I haven’t been able to lose, I tested negative for celiac disease. So the thing about gluten is even if you test negative for celiac disease you can still be gluten-sensitive. I will probably stay off gluten until Thanksgiving, I figure two months should be long enough to know if I am gluten sensitive. On to the Recipe:

Pumpkin Coconut Muffins

Makes 7 Muffins

  • 1/2 cup Coconut Flour
  • 1/2 teaspoon Baking Powder
  • 6-8 ounces of  Canned Pumpkin
  • 2 Tbsp. melted butter
  • 1 Tbsp. Melted Coconut Oil
  • 2 Tbsp Milk
  • 3 eggs
  • 1/2 tsp vanilla
  • 3-4 TBSP maple syrup or honey
  • pinch of salt

When making this the first time I was on the phone, and have learned I can not multi-task when cooking. I accidentally grabbed peppermint oil rather then vanilla, and put it into the mix. Thinking peppermint pumpkin muffins do not sound good, I threw it out. So I only had 6 ounces of pumpkin left when I planned on using 8 ounces. When I was adding the maple syrup I realized I needed to feed the dogs and when I got back to baking realized I wasn’t sure if I put in 3 Tbls. or 1, so I tasted the batter and added a little more.

Pre-heat oven at 350 F degrees.

Mix coconut flour with baking powder. In a separate bowl beat eggs gradually, and then add milk, maple syrup, coconut oil, butter, vanilla and salt. Then add in the coconut flour/baking powder. Once that is mixed in, mix in the pumpkin.  I cooked mine for 30 minutes. but I would check them after 25 minutes.

I think by themselves they would be bland. So Maybe add in some pumpkin pie spice, with some chopped up apples or walnuts. I put Craisens on them which are really good. I think adding a handful of Craisens or chocolate chips would be really good. For gluten free muffins, I thought they were pretty good.

This post is part of Real Food Wednesday, hosted by Cheeseslave: http://tinyurl.com/yf5d688

Pumpkin Coconut muffins with Craisens

Pumpkin Coconut muffins with Craisens

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

2 Responses to “Pumpkin Coconut Muffins(GF)”

RSS Feed for Tales from a Recovering Vegetarian Comments RSS Feed

Yum yum!

It makes sense that you are not absorbing the iron. Are you on a good probiotic? It can take time to heal the digestive tract so be patient.

You also might try eating clams to boost your iron levels.

“It turns out that clams have more iron than any other food. In one 2.5 ounce serving of clams, you get a whopping 21 mg of iron. That’s almost 3 times as much iron as chicken liver (8.7 mg for 2.5 ounces) and almost 9 times as much as beef (2.4 mg).”

http://www.cheeseslave.com/2009/08/18/fried-clams/

I know you can’t do the flour or breaded clams but you could try breading it with coconut bread. I bet it would work great!

I’m not on probiotics right now. I think I might have an H. Pylori infection, I was tested for it several years and tested positive I was treated but I didn’t get re-tested. I have read that H. Pylori can block iron absorption. So probably in December I want to see this holistic health practitioner and get re-tested for it.


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

