Spaghetti Bolognese

Posted on December 8, 2009. Filed under: Uncategorized |

I was watching a Jamie Oliver dvd, and he decided to make bolognese sauce. I had never heard of bolognese sauce, and after watching him make it decided to give it a shot.

Ingredients:

  • 3 ounces of pancetta
  • 1/2 cup of the following: carrots, celery, and onion diced.
  • 5 pieces of garlic finely chopped
  • Rosemary
  • 1 1/2 cup red wine
  • Spaghetti Sauce
  • 1-1.5 lb. of beef
  • 1/2 cup freshly grated Parmigiano-Reggiano.

Jamie said that most bolognese sauce is cooked using ground beef, but traditionally ground beef was not around so they used a cheap cut of meat. When I went to the farmers market to purchase my grass-fed beef for the recipe I asked the lady what would be good for slow cooking in a stew, and she recommended the center cut shank.

First step is to season the beef with salt and pepper then brown the beef on all sides in some butter, ghee or bacon fat.  Once done cook the pancetta in the pan. Jamie recommends adding rosemary springs, I did this and found pieces of rosemary in the sauce which I didn’t like. So I would recommend finely chopping several springs of rosemary. Then add the vegetables and saute them for 5- 10 minutes until softened. When watching the show I remember seeing Jamie drop in the piece of meat without cutting it up and then later pulling it out and shredding it. I tried this and it didn’t work out so I cubed it into 2 inch pieces.

When I cooked it I added the sauce and the wine together, but reading the recipe Jamie says to pour in the wine (he recommends Chanti, I’ve never heard of it) let it simmer for about 15 minutes until the wine has reduced by half. I think it would taste better this way. I then added the spaghetti sauce I used 1 1/2 containers. I purchased the Whole Foods brand. Jamie said to use 28 ounces of canned tomatoes but knowing that cans have BPA in them, I try to avoid buying anything canned. Then add in the beef. If your using a pressure cooker he recommends adding 1/2 cup of water. I let it cook on the stove for 3 1/2 hours or you can put it in the oven at 275* for 3 to 3 1/2 hours.

I served this over Trader Joes Brown rice spaghetti, sprinkle the cheese on top. I liked having chunks of meat in the sauce, it’s a nice hearty sauce, perfect for winter!

I forgot to take pictures when I was cooking, but did take photos of how to cut up a onion. I went over to a friends house to make soup a month ago, and she showed me how to dice an onion. (Thanks, Erin) Cut the onion in half then make slices in the onion, but don’t cut all the way through you want to be able to hold the end of the onion.

Then hold the end of the onion that isn’t sliced and cut across: Then slice it into smaller pieces.

This Post is part of Real Food Wednesday, hosted by Kelly the Kitchen Kop.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

One Response to “Spaghetti Bolognese”

RSS Feed for Tales from a Recovering Vegetarian Comments RSS Feed

interesting, the veg blend is french http://frenchfood.about.com/od/frenchfoodfaqs/f/mirepoix.htm

as to the wine, you can find a california sangiovese as a substitute, but a zinfandel should work also and be easier to find…or really just grab any bargain red at trader joes


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

